Waxing Gibbous Moon

Waxing Gibbous

The different phases of the Moon have different names. As the Moon waxes (the amount of illuminated surface as seen from Earth is increasing), the Moon moves through the New Moon, Crescent Moon, First-Quarter Moon, Gibbous Moon and Full Moon phases, before returning through the Gibbous Moon, Third-quarter Moon, Crescent Moon and Old Moon phases. Old Moon and New Moon are interchangeable, although New Moon is used in preference, and Half Moon is often used to mean the First- and Third-Quarter Moons. More Information

Camera : Canon 10D
Telescope : Saxon 70mm Refractor
Exposure Time : 1/90 Second at ISO 200
Processing: Photoshop
Date : June 2006
Location : Kaituna, Masterton, New Zealand